New Year’s Day Meal

Posted on

New Years Meal

Bringing in the New Year with wonderful food always makes me happy! So I sat down and came up with what I thought would be a great menu for a New Year’s Day meal. I read several places in the south cook cabbage and black-eyed peas to bring you good luck and prosperity throughout the new year. So sticking with the tradition I decided to cook cabbage and Hoppin’ John (which is black-eyed peas and rice, yes this is new to me too) and of course you can’t have cabbage without cornbread, so I fixed some cornbread as well. Since I had never cooked black-eyed peas before, I went to my go to chef, Ree Drummond (aka The Pioneer Woman), for her wonderful recipe. Then I thought what would go best with black-eyed peas and cabbage, the first thing that came to mind was pork. So I roasted a pork loin with a wonderful raspberry sauce. Since I had never cooked black eyed peas before, it was certainly a learning experience. My husband, who I like to call Handsome, had never had cabbage before so this was an experience for him too!  I am going to post the recipes for the roasted pork loin with raspberry sauce, cabbage and Hoppin’ John, but there is no secret to my cornbread, just followed the directions on the back of the bag and there you go! I hope you enjoy the recipes as much as I did!!!

3 thoughts on “New Year’s Day Meal

    amwash said:
    January 5, 2014 at 7:34 PM

    This looks amazing! I wish I was there to enjoy it!

    Denise Jones Watts said:
    January 6, 2014 at 6:08 PM

    I am so looking forward to following your new blog on cooking, entertaining and decorating. I know you to be fabulous in all of these areas and I wish you the best of luck with this new venture. I am hoping to get some great new ideas here!

    Rachel Ohler said:
    January 6, 2014 at 8:40 PM

    I can’t wait to try the pork loin with raspberry sauce!! 🙂 Love your blog!

Leave a Reply

