Banana Breakfast

Posted on Updated on

I love to eat a banana for breakfast every morning, so much that over the past week I have bought bananas several times. I only like to eat the bananas when they are really yellow, I don’t like them to have any green whatsoever and once they get brown spots they’ve gone too far and are not coming back! So here I had all of these super ripe bananas and I thought what can I do with them….. hmmmmm……light bulb came on and I figured I can still have them for breakfast  but in a different way (don’t you just love when that happens..haha) so I made Banana Oat Nut Muffins and Banana Bread. Once again, I found two wonderful recipes on Pinterest then added some additional ingredients to make it my own! I have to say they both turned out to be AMAZING… I am actually eating one  of the muffins right now as I am typing up this post. 🙂  I hope you enjoy!

IMG_2289

Banana Nut Oat Muffins

Ingredients:
1 1/4 cup old fashioned oats
1 cup flour
2/3 cup sugar
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1 tsp vanilla
1 egg
2 cups of mashed ripe banana (about 4)
1/3 cup melted butter
1/2 cup chopped walnuts

Preparation:
In a large bowl, mix together the oats, flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt with a fork. Set aside.

In a different bowl, whisk together the egg, banana, and melted butter.

Add the banana mixture to the flour mixture and stir until it is just moistened. Mix in the vanilla. Fold in the nuts.

Divide batter into a paper lined or greased muffin tin.

Bake at 375 F for about 20-25 minutes.

Adapted from: http://www.chasingtomatoes.ca/2007/03/banana-oat-muffins.html

IMG_2299

Banana Nut Bread

 Ingredients:
2 cups flour
1 tsp. baking soda
¼ tsp. salt
1/2 cup butter, softened
1 cup sugar
2 eggs, room temperature
1 tsp. vanilla
3 or 4 large mashed bananas

Preparation:
Measure and sift together flour, baking soda and salt.

In a separate bowl, cream butter and sugar together. Then add eggs and vanilla. Mix until thoroughly combined. Stir in mashed bananas.

Fold in dry ingredients.

Pour mixture in a well-greased loaf pan.

Bake at 325 degrees for 60 minutes, or until a toothpick insert comes out clean.

Adapted from: http://www.thewoodgraincottage.com/2013/08/28/banana-nut-bread/

One thought on “Banana Breakfast

    Amber Wash said:
    January 15, 2014 at 9:14 PM

    These were the best…I think by Tuesday they were all gone! I love when my sister cooks for me…she is the best!

Leave a Reply

