Soup Days

Posted on

You know there are certain days that call for soup, and here lately in the Bluegrass State we have had a few of those days, more than I would like. I usually sit down every week and plan the meals for Handsome and I for the following week and there are two factors that determine what meals we will have: 1-what is on sale at the grocery…duh!…and 2-what is the weather going to be like. For instance, if its going to be in the 60s and sunny then we do a lot of grilling, but if it is going to be in the 30s and snowing then we cook more inside the house. However, for you that do not know this, Kentucky weather is very UNPREDICTABLE…seriously, today it is 30 degrees and snowing and by Friday it is supposed to be 60 degrees and raining!!! – CRAZY! I know!  So this past weekend it was cloudy, rainy and cold, and I thought what is a better way to warm up, than with a bowl of soup. So I found a new recipe that I think you all are going to love. It is a white bean and kale soup recipe and it is very healthy and can even be tweaked a little and turned into a vegetarian soup as well. It is not like any other soup I have ever made, it is a very light and clean soup. So this past Sunday my family and I got together and watched the UK game…and yes we beat Wichita State!!! Go C-A-T-S! CATS! CATS! CATS! Sorry, I had to do it! So the soup was a hit and the Cats advanced to the Sweet Sixteen….it was a good day!!

Leave a Reply

