Summertime Salsa

Posted on

So here in Kentucky summers can vary….we have some summers where the weather is ideal with temperatures in the low 80s….however, we have been experiencing a HEAT WAVE for the past few days with temperatures in the 90s!!! Yes!…you read correctly 90 degrees in Kentucky! In fact, today’s high is 92!!!! HOT!

When the weather gets this hot I tend to want to eat cool things…like salads, salsa and smoothies! So I was craving a good salsa… and when I say good I mean GOOD….not store bought! So of course when I am looking for a good recipe I grab one of my Pioneer Woman cookbooks…and of course I found one! Just a little side note Ree Drummon the Pioneer Woman is coming to Lexington for the Kentucky Proud Incredible Food Show on October 11, 2014…Oh and I will be there! Mark your calendars! She is my favorite!!!

Ok, ok back to the salsa. I used some can ingredients but if you can find fresh ingredients this time of year that would be best! I hope you enjoy!

Summertime Salsa
Summertime Salsa

 

Summertime Salsa

Ingredients

1 28 oz. can whole tomatoes with juice
2 10 oz. cans of Rotel (mild flavor)
1/4 cup chopped onion (you can use red onion or white onion)
1 clove garlic, minced
½ jalapeno, sliced with ribs and seeds removed
1/4 teaspoon sugar
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon ground cumin
1/2 cup cilantro
1/2 of a lime, juiced

Instructions

Combine all ingredients into a blender or food processor. Pulse about 10-15 times, or until you get it to the consistency you like. I prefer my salsa smoother than junkier so I pulse more than lese.

Refrigerate salsa for about an hour to allow the ingredients to merry and then serve with tortilla chips!

*You can use a food processor or a blender is smaller batches to make this recipe.

Adapted from: http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2010/01/restaurant-style-salsa/

 

Leave a comment